

Agenda: 51st Annual General Meeting

Chamber of Commerce Serving Coquitlam, Port Coquitlam, Port Moody

Time/Date: 5 - 7 p.m., Thursday, November 24, 2022

Location: Aspen Room, Executive Plaza Hotel, 405 North Road, Coquitlam, BC and Online via Zoom

	Topic	Time	Speaker	Document	Action
	Welcome and Opening Remarks	5:20 pm	Leslie Courchesne CEO	-	
1.	Call to Order, Motion to Adopt Agenda	5:23	Ryan Whittle Chair	Agenda Package p 1	Motion
2.	Motion to Adopt Minutes of 2021 AGM	5:25	R. Whittle	Agenda Package p 2-4	Motion
3.	Douglas College, Presenting Sponsor	5:27	Sponsor Representative	-	-
4.	TransLink Presentation, and Q&A	5:30	Kevin Quinn CEO, TransLink	-	-
5.	2022 Report from the Chair	5:50	R. Whittle	2022 Annual Report [LINK]	-
6.	Treasurer's Report: a. Motion to approve 2021 Audited Financial Statements b. Motion to appoint Auditor for 2022 Fiscal Year	5:55	Ryan Gorder Treasurer	Audited Financial Statements for Year Ended Dec 31, 2021 [LINK]	Motions
7.	2023 Board Formation a. Motion to appoint Table Officers b. Continuing Directors, terms ending Dec 31, 2023	6:00	Mary Vellani Past Chair	2023 Board of Directors & Nominees [LINK]	Motion
8.	2023 Board Election a. Candidate Speeches b. Voting Procedures c. Member Voting & Refreshments	6:05	M. Vellani and Candidates	2023 Board of Directors & Nominees [LINK]	Vote
9.	Election Results Announced and Motion to Destroy Ballots	6:35	M. Vellani	-	Motion
10.	Oath of Office, taken and subscribed by the incoming Table Officers and Directors before the Mayors present	6:40	Table Officers and incoming Directors	-	Signing
11.	Incoming Chair Remarks	6:50	Jenifer Wright	-	
12.	Adjourn & Closing Remarks	6:55	R. Whittle	-	Motion



Chamber of Commerce Serving Coquitlam, Port Coquitlam and Port Moody Annual General Meeting Minutes

5 - 7 p.m., Thursday, December 2, 2021 **Attendance in-person and via Zoom** Executive Plaza Hotel, Coquitlam, BC

2021 Directors present: Mary Vellani, Ryan Whittle, Ryan Gorder, Randy Webster, Kelso Kennedy, Jennifer McKinnon, Ryan Oake, Vivien Symington, Vineet Verghese, Belén Welch, Jenifer Wright.

Directors absent: none

Total Attendees: 85 (58 in-person, 27 virtual)
Eligible Voting Members in attendance: 68 (52 in-person, 16 virtual)

Meeting Preamble – CEO Leslie Courchesne

Tri-Cities Chamber of Commerce CEO Leslie Courchesne provided opening remarks and introduced Chamber Governor Stephanie Booth, VP Commercial and Financial Services, RBC, to pay tribute to Micheal Hind, Past CEO.

Toast to Past CEO Micheal Hind – Chamber Governor Stephanie Booth

S. Booth spoke to M. Hind's successes and legacy as past CEO of the Chamber.

Meeting Preamble Cont'd - CEO Leslie Courchesne

L. Courchesne introduced Board Chair Mary Vellani to present the Tri-Cities Chamber of Commerce scholarship to two undergraduate Douglas College students.

Presentation of Scholarships – Mary Vellani, Chair

Annual Chamber Scholarships of \$1000 each were presented to Douglas College Business students Adam Prelowski and Hanan Sadeghi, from the BA Accounting program.

1. Call to Order – Mary Vellani

Meeting was called to order at 5:27 pm Moved – Randy Webster. Seconded – Greg Garrison. *Motion carried*.

Motion to Approve Minutes of the 2020 Annual General Meeting – Mary Vellani Moved – Merle Murrin. Seconded – Jenifer Wright. *Motion carried.*

2. Chair's Report - Mary Vellani

M. Vellani referenced her report which was included in the AGM package and spoke to her experience as Chair during the pandemic.

3. Treasurer's Report - Ryan Gorder

R. Gorder spoke to his written report, provided in the AGM package.

Motion to approve 2020 Audited Financial Statements

Moved - Micheal Hind, Seconded - Renata Steele, *Motion carried*.

4. 2022 Board Formation – Randy Webster, Past Chair

R. Webster presented the membership with the list of candidates for the 2022 Board of Directors. The 2021 Nominating Committee is responsible for submitting at least one nominee for the offices of Chair, Vice-Chairs, Treasurer, and nominees for the position of Director.

As per 6.02 of the Bylaws, there shall be no right to vote by proxy, and no member who is not in good standing shall be allowed to vote.

The positions for Table Officers for 2022 were presented as a complete slate: Chair – Ryan Whittle. Vice-Chair – Jenifer Wright, Treasurer – Ryan Gorder, Past Chair – Mary Vellani.

Motion to accept the nominated slate of Table Officers

Moved - Rick Pasin. Seconded - Vivien Symington. *Motion carried*.

Terms ending December 31, 2021: Andrea Jabour, Jennifer McKinnon, Vineet Verghese, Jenifer Wright. Terms ending December 31, 2022: Kelso Kennedy, Ryan Oake, Daniel Richardson, Vivien Symington, Belén Welch.

5. Election for five Board Director positions, two-year term

Nominees: Mehran Aazamifard, Greg Cowan, Adel Gamar, Ryan Jamieson, Jennifer McKinnon, Kathryn Millar, Navid Morawej, Pulkit Sharma, Vineet Verghese. Each nominee spoke for one minute to introduce themselves.

Voting Rules and Procedures – Randy Webster

As this is the Chamber's first hybrid in-person and virtual AGM, R. Webster explained the voting procedures, using Google Form and unique Member IDs.

R. Webster announced the commencement of voting and appointed three members to serve as election scrutineers: Kyle Cong, Jiliane Courteau, and Krista Constantineau.

6. Message from Presenting Sponsor – Jocelyn Young, Manager External Relations, Vancouver Fraser Port Authority

7. Celebration of 50th Anniversary of the Tri-Cities Chamber of Commerce

Message from Coquitlam Mayor Richard Stewart. Cake cutting by Coquitlam Mayor Richard Stewart, Past Chair Mary Vellani, Incoming Chair Ryan Whittle, Past CEO Micheal Hind, and Board of Governors.

8. Announcement of Election Results – Randy Webster

R. Webster announced the candidates elected for a two-year term with the Board of Directors, starting January 1, 2022: Adel Gamar, Ryan Jamieson, Jennifer McKinnon, Vineet Verghese, Kathryn Millar.

Motion to destroy all ballots

Moved - Kathryn Millar. Seconded - John Wolff. *Motion carried*.

9. Oath of Office - Incoming Table Officers

Oath of Office taken in front of Coquitlam Mayor Richard Stewart by 2022 Chair Ryan Whittle and 2022 Vice-Chair Jennifer Wright.

10. Incoming Chair's Speech - Ryan Whittle

R. Whittle spoke to the high calibre of the Tri-Cities Chamber of Commerce, especially in light of the pandemic. He extended a special thank you to Camelia Maxim, Stephanie Rennie, Michael Hind, Randy Webster, Mary Vellani, and the Board of Directors.

11. Closing Remarks - CEO Leslie Courchesne

L. Courchesne congratulated the incoming Directors and thanked the Chamber team for coordinating the event. She also thanked everyone for attending in person and online.

12. Motion to adjourn the meeting - Mary Vellani

A motion was made at 6:46 pm to adjourn the meeting.

Moved - Greg Garrison. Seconded - Jennifer McKinnon. *Motion carried*.